chocolat 

IMG_9218

Mexican hot chocolate surpasses any other type of hot chocolate. Sweet, steamy, yet spicy. A few nights ago my friend introduced me to Abuelita – a brand of hot chocolate mix that you can pick up at any Mexican grocery store. Break apart one of the chocolate tablets into boiling milk and whisk until you have a mug of frothy, chocolatey bliss.

Since it was only fitting, we proceeded to watch Chocolat, starring Johnny Depp, which is a film about a chocolatier shop. For someone that isn’t a fan of chocolate, I was quite hungry after the film. Almost every single scene had chocolate in it and by the end of the film I was craving chocolate, or some version of it.  Which brings me to the point of today’s post.

A few years ago I attempted to make chocolate avocado pudding. And I completely failed. Looking back, I know it’s because the avocados weren’t even ripe so I ended up eating unripe avocado with chocolate drizzled over it. Now, after the movie and the hot chocolate, I am inspired to make it again.

Ingredients:

  • 5 Ripe Avocados
  • 1 Cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1/2 Can Coconut Milk
  • 1 Cup Organic Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tsb. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg

IMG_9185

Blend all the ingredients together in a large mixing bowl and top with whatever you want! I love homemade whipping cream and fresh berries; my sister opted for coconut flakes.

IMG_9220

I was very happy with the result this time – the key is to use soft, ripe avocados.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

